On Saturday June 4th 2016, 150 attendees from all over the world came to New Orleans for the 7th International Patient-Doctor Conference of the Cicatricial Alopecia Research Foundation. The day kicked off with a welcome from program chair Dr. Rogers and Elayne Kuehler, our South Louisiana support group leader who generously designed and donated festive T-shirts for the event.

Morning lectures included an overview of the cicatricial alopecias, as well as first line medical therapies, second line medical therapies, and surgical options. Dr. Jeffrey Donovan gave an update in research findings.


After lunch, the “Ask the Experts” panel allowed for attendees to interact directly with the most experienced physicians treating hair loss. Dr. Lynne Goldberg of Boston University led the panel, including Drs. Jeffrey Donovan, Marc Avram, Ronda Fareh, Yolanda Lenzy, Antonella Tosti, Maria Hordinsky, and Wilma Bergfeld.

The afternoon included talks on cosmetic and camouflage options. Debbie Guastalla discussed cosmetic tattooing of the eyebrows in patients with FFA. Dr. Adriana Schmidt covered camouflage options such as fibers and hairpieces. Dr. Kate Holcomb discussed excellent skincare.

On Saturday night, the group was led by Lori Bertella in her inspirational talk on JOY. After that came a surprise musical performance by the Mardi Gras Indians and Brass Band! They got everyone up off their feet and 2nd lining around the room.

By Sunday morning, the attendees were ready for more, meeting in small “Express Yourself” groups. More lectures followed on diet, mental health, and an especially touching talk was by Hatcho Semerciyan who organizes the Facebook group LPP: Put out the Fire!

A final plea was made for research fundraising by Christine Janus. If you would like to donate please send funds to
Cicatricial Alopecia Research Foundation
303 West State Street
Geneva, IL 60134 USA
Telephone: 1-310-801-3450
E-mail: [email protected]

Many thanks to CARF Chair Rita Wanser and our local volunteers!


Big thanks to our physician faculty members (left to right) including Ronda Fareh, Marc Avram, Adriana Schmidt, Nicole Rogers, Yolanda Lenzy, Maria Hordinsky, Alan Bauman, Wilma Bergfeld, Antonella Tosti, Melissa Pilian, Lynne Goldberg, Jeffrey Donovan, and Kate Holcomb. Not pictured: Lady Dy, Patricia Farris, Caroline Campion.